Welcome to the Musée des Abénakis

ABOUT

Founded in 1965 by community members and missionary Rémi Dolan, the Musée des Abénakis is the first Aboriginal museum institution in Quebec. Located in the former Catholic school of Odanak, on the banks of the Saint-François River, the Museum invites you to discover the cultural richness of the Abenaki First Nation. The Museum invites you to visit permanent and temporary exhibitions with an Aboriginal theme and to participate in cultural and educational discovery activities.

musee1

PRESS RELEASES

Indians Beyond Hollywood

The Musée des Abénakis is proud to announce the opening of its new temporary exhibition: The Indians Beyond Hollywood, produced thanks to a $120,000 grant from Canadian Heritage. This exhibition will be presented at the Musée des Abénakis from 29 June 2018 to 22 December 2019.

Read More »

A record year for the 7th edition of the Musée des Abénakis fundraising cocktail party!

More than 125 friends and partners of the Musée des Abénakis gathered on March 22nd to participate in the seventh edition of its annual fundraising cocktail. Thanks to the presence of guests and the generous contribution of 30 sponsors, the Musée des Abénakis is very pleased to announce that it has raised $33,500 ($24,000 in net proceeds) to support its educational and cultural missions. This is the largest amount raised by the Musée des Abénakis during a fundraising activity.

Read More »

A first-ever cultural program

The Musée des Abénakis has unveiled its first cultural program for spring 2018. These various activities will allow participants to experience a captivating cultural encounter.

Read More »

The Abenakis of Odanak: an archaeological journey

The Musée des Abénakis is pleased to present its first ever public archaeological publication entitled Les Abénakis d’Odanak: an archaeological journey, made possible thanks to an $81,000 grant from Canadian Heritage. This book is a synthesis of the archaeological excavation project Fort d’Odanak: the revisited past.

Read More »

SERVICES OFFERED

The Museum offers the following services:

Rental Spaces

The Museum offers rental spaces for people looking for a space to receive guests or colleagues.

Kiz8bak Shop

The Museum's boutique offers a wide selection of items and articles with an Indigenous flavour.

Photographic Services

The Museum offers you reproductions of images from our archives.

OPENING HOURS

October 1st — April 30th

Monday to Friday: 10 am to 5 pm 

Saturday and Sunday: 11 am to 5 pm 

Closed

From December 24th to January 3rd 

May 1st – September 30th

Every day: 10 am to 5 pm

CONTACT US

450 568-2600

450 568-5959

108 Waban-Aki, Odanak, Qc, J0G 1H0

Feel free to contact us for any questions or reservations.

Bienvenue au Musée des Abénakis

À PROPOS

Fondé en 1965 par les membres de la communauté et le missionnaire Rémi Dolan, le Musée des Abénakis est la première institution muséale autochtone du Québec. Situé dans l’ancienne école catholique d’Odanak, en bordure de la rivière Saint-François, le Musée vous convie à découvrir la richesse culturelle de la Première Nation des Abénakis. Le Musée vous invite à visiter des expositions permanentes et temporaires à thématique autochtone et à participer à des activités culturelles et éducatives de découverte.

musee1

Communiqués de presse

L’Indien au-delà d’Hollywood

Le Musée des Abénakis est fier d’annoncer l’ouverture de sa nouvelle exposition temporaire : l’Indien au-delà d’Hollywood, réalisée grâce à une subvention de Patrimoine canadien de 120 000 $. Cette exposition sera présentée au Musée des Abénakis du 29 juin 2018 au 22 décembre 2019.

En savoir plus »

Une année record pour la 7e édition du cocktail-bénéfice du Musée des Abénakis !

Plus de 125 amis et partenaires du Musée des Abénakis se sont réunis le 22 mars dernier pour participer à la septième édition de son cocktail-bénéfice annuel. Grâce à la présence des convives ainsi qu’à la généreuse contribution de 30 commanditaires, le Musée des Abénakis est très heureux d’annoncer qu’il a amassé la somme de 33 500 $ (24 000$ de profit net) qui permettra de contribuer à ses missions éducatives et culturelles. Il s’agit du plus gros montant amassé par le Musée des Abénakis lors d’une activité bénéfice.

En savoir plus »

Les Abénakis d’Odanak : un voyage archéologique

Le Musée des Abénakis est heureux de présenter sa toute première publication archéologique grand public qui a pour titre Les Abénakis d’Odanak : un voyage archéologique, réalisé grâce à une subvention de 81 000 $ de Patrimoine canadien. Cet ouvrage se veut une synthèse du projet de fouilles archéologiques Fort d’Odanak : le passé revisité.

En savoir plus »

SERVICES OFFERTS

Le Musée offre les services suivants:

Location d'espaces

Le Musée propose des espaces locatifs aux personnes à la recherche d’un espace pour recevoir vos invités ou vos collègues.

Boutique Kiz8bak

La boutique du Musée vous propose une vaste sélection d’items et d’articles à saveur autochtone.

Service photographique

Le Musée vous propose des reproductions d'images de nos archives.

HEURES D'OUVERTURES

1er OCTOBRE — 30 AVRIL

Lundi au vendredi : 10 h à 17 h 
Samedi et dimanche: 11 h à 17 h 

FERMÉ

Du 24 décembre au 3 janvier 

1er MAI — 30 SEPTEMBRE

Tous les jours : 10 h à 17 h

NOUS JOINDRE

450 568-2600

450 568-5959

108 Waban-Aki, Odanak, Qc, J0G 1H0

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour toutes questions ou réservations.